2021 Virtual Event Series

You are invited to attend the OWUSS Virtual Event Series June 3-5, 2021

The Our World-Underwater Scholarship Society has some good news to share! We are emerging from our year-long COVID hiatus and will celebrate our Scholars and Interns with a virtual event series June 3-5, 2021. It is more important than ever that we celebrate success while we recognize the challenging times we are all facing.

Scholar Symposium - Thursday, June 3
Link to the 2021 Scholar Symposium

Intern Symposium - Friday, June 4
Link to the 2021 Intern Symposium

Don't miss the Awards Ceremony - Saturday, June 5
Link to the 2021 Awards Ceremony

Link to the 2021 OWUSS Program Book

To maximize the number of viewers from around the world, the initial viewing for each event will air at the following times:

  • 4pm EDT - New York
  • 3pm CDT - Chicago
  • 1pm PDT - Los Angeles
  • 9pm BST - London
  • 10pm CEST - Berlin
  • 6am AEST - Sydney (June 4, 5, and 6)

 
Scholar and Intern Symposiums - June 3&4
Similar to the Society's morning symposiums traditionally held at The Explorers Club, the first two days of the event will feature the final presentations of our returning 2019 Rolex Scholars and Society Interns. This is a chance to hear a bit more in-depth about what they did during their scholarship and internship experiences.
 

Awards Ceremony - June 5
The awards ceremony will celebrate the returning class of Scholars and Interns as well as announce the new 2021 Rolex Scholars and Society Interns. This year the ceremony will feature the world premieres of the year-end films for the 2019 Rolex Scholars, the announcement of the DAN Rolex Diver of the Year, the introduction of the 2021 Society Interns, and the awards presentation of the new 2021 Rolex Scholars.